Board of Directors

NovaScan has a highly accomplished board of directors.

Richard Piazza
Chairman, Member of Executive Committee

Richard is a serial healthcare CEO who has been involved in entrepreneurial concerns for more than thirty years. He has raised more than $120MM in institutional and angel capital, and has run device, biotech, and provider companies. Richard is the former CEO of Vital Therapies (NASD: VTL) and led the successful divestiture of SoloPak Pharmaceuticals for Smith & Nephew. Mr. Piazza has a close relationship with M.D. Anderson and a deep network across the global oncological community.

Craig Davis
President & CEO, Member of Executive Committee

Craig has been active in the early stage medtech community for many years, as a partner at a leading family office, as a medtech investment banker, and as a growth strategy consultant. Previous to NovaScan, Mr. Davis was a partner in the two person family office LaSalle Investments. Among others, LaSalle co-founded Merge Healthcare (IPO and sold to IBM for $1Billion) and OrthoScan (acquired by ATON GmbH). Craig was a senior member of a team that was backed by private equity firm GTCR to roll up companies in the urologic device space. He is also an ex- partner at Healthios, a boutique healthcare focused investment bank founded by former Baxter CEO Vern Loucks. Mr. Davis has an MBA from the Kellogg School, a masters degrees in engineering from Northwestern, as well as a BS in mechanical engineering from Washington University.

William Gregory, Ph.D.

Over the past thirty years, Dr. Gregory has been researching the electrical properties of materials and has been involved in other start-up companies as well as holding various academic positions. He holds numerous patents and is widely published, and most recently a joint appointment as a Professor of Electrical Engineering in the College of Engineering and in the College of Health Sciences at the University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee. Prior to this position, Dr. Gregory was the Dean of the College of Engineering and Applied Science at UW-Milwaukee. Dr. Gregory received his Ph.D. in Physics from MIT, is a registered patent agent and holds a professional engineering license.

Charles Link, MD FACP
Member of the Executive Committee

Charles Link, MD FACP is a medical oncologist with deep experience in medical innovation. Most recently, Dr Link was the CEO, CSO, Chairman and founder of NewLink Genetics, a pioneering immunotherapy company that discovered, developed and commercialized novel immuno-oncology product candidates, including checkpoint inhibitors and cellular immunotherapies. At its height, NewLink’s market cap exceeded $1.3B. Dr Link struck multiple deals worth hundreds of millions of dollars with companies such as Novartis and Roche. Charles led the development of Merck’s EVERBO, the first Ebola vaccine to receive FDA Approval. Previously, Dr Link was an attending physician at the National Cancer Institute. He has authored more than 170 peer reviewed papers and has received millions in funding from National Institute of Health, National Cancer Institute, American Cancer Society, and others. Charles received an MD from Stanford University and he attended the Air Force Academy.

Joel Weinstein
Board Member

Joel Weinstein is a serial entrepreneur and an industry-recognized marketing and strategy “guru” in medical imaging and women’s health. He was a member of the founding management team of Hologic, Inc. and directed the strategies of that company’s first 12 years of meteoric growth. He has since served as a Founder of Assurance Medical, CEO of VueSonix Sensors, Andrew Technologies and Chief Marketing and Sales Officer of women’s health pioneer BioSphere Medical.

Tsuri Bernstein
Board Member

Tsur spent 28 years in the diagnostic imaging industry, initially at Elscint (Israel) and then at GE Healthcare, in roles in engineering, marketing, academic relations and intellectual property. Tsur has a BSc degree in Physics from the Hebrew University, Israel; a MSc in Chemistry from the Technion, Haifa, Israel; and a PhD in Physics from MIT.