Scientific Advisory Board

Darrel S. Rigel, M.D.

A world leading authority on melanoma, Dr. Rigel is Past President of the American Academy of Dermatology, Past President of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery, and Past President of the American Dermatological Association. Dr. Rigel is a clinical professor of Dermatology at New York University. His research emphasis is in the early detection of melanoma and he is not only widely published, but also the lead editor of Cancer of the Skin, the leading textbook in this field.

Manish Gharia, M.D.

Dr. Manish Gharia is a well established and leading fellowship trained Mohs surgeon who practices in Southeastern Wisconsin. Manish conceived of and advocated for the use of NovaScan’s technology in Mohs Surgery, and he is the Principal Investigator for the current clinical trial. Dr. Gharia has also taught dermatology and dermatologic surgery at the University of Wisconsin and Medical College of Wisconsin. He is a native of Wisconsin and attended medical school at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Daniel Seigel, M.D.

Daniel Siegel, MD, is a Clinical Professor of Dermatology at SUNY Downstate and is a former President of the American Academy of Dermatology. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Dermatology and the American Board of Laser Surgery and is a fellow of the American Society for Dermatologic Surgery (ASDS), the American Academy of Dermatology (AAD), and the American College of Mohs Surgery. He is a leading voice on the Reimbursement Value Committee (RUC) in Dermatology.

John Albertini, M.D.

John Albertini is a highly accomplished fellowship trained Mohs Surgeon. Dr. Ablertini is the immediate past President of the American College of Mohs Surgeons, and an Associate Professor in the Wake Forest University Department of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery. Dr. Albertini has published more than 40 scientific articles and book chapters, and has given numerous lectures to local and national audiences. He received an M.D. from the Pritzker School of the University of Chicago.

Wendy Mikkelson, M.D.

Dr. Mikkelson is a board certified surgeon and a Fellow of the American College of Surgeons. She specializes in the treatment of breast disease and breast cancer. Dr. Mikkelson is the Administrative Director of the Aurora St. Lukes Comprehensive Breast Health Center and has dedicated her career to the early detection of breast cancer. Dr. Mikkelson has served as the Principal Investigator for several NovaScan trials.

Barry Leshin, M.D.

Barry Leshin is a leading Mohs Surgeon who has authored more than 50 scientific articles and lectured both nationally and internationally. Dr. Leshin is a Diplomate of the American Board of Dermatology, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Dermatology, the American Society of Dermatologic Surgery and the American College of Mohs Surgeons, where he has served on the Board of Directors. He is a Clinical Professor of Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery at the Wake Forest School of Medicine. Dr. Leshin received his M.D. from the University of Texas in Houston.

Isaac Raijman MD

a. Dr Raijman is a world renowned gastroenterologist in the Texas Medical Center who additionally serves as the Chief Medical Officer of EndoRx. He is a Clinical Associate Professor at University of Texas Health Science Center and Baylor College of Medicine. Dr Raijman has completed more procedures with a SpyGlass cholangioscope than anyone else in the world. He is passionate about new technologies and their ability to influence patient care. Isaac graduated from Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico and completed internship and residency in Mount Sinai Medical Center, Milwaukee Clinical Campus, of the University of Wisconsin. He completed a fellowship in Gastroenterology at the University if Texas and in Advanced Therapeutic Endoscopy at The Wellesley Hospital in Toronto. Dr Raijman lectures frequently and is active with industry. In his spare time, Isaac is also an accomplished artist and the founder of the Arts of Healing Foundation.

Kyle Hogarth

D. Kyle Hogarth, MD, FCCP, is a Professor of Medicine in the Section of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine at The University of Chicago. He is the Director of Bronchoscopy and is heavily involved in the field of advanced bronchoscopy and interventional pulmonary with numerous publications.

Dr. Hogarth received his medical degree at Case Western Reserve University School of Medicine in Cleveland, Ohio. He then completed a residency in Internal Medicine and a fellowship in Pulmonary and Critical Care at The University of Chicago. He has been published in the New England Journal of Medicine, Chest, ERJ and many other journals. He serves on the editorial board of CHEST, where he is the section editor for the podcast section. He has won numerous clinical awards and teaching awards from his University. He is a founding member and the past President of the Society for Advanced Bronchoscopy.